People and source evidence
Faculty profiles and official portraits
Explore individually sourced roles, affiliations and portraits. Where a portrait is unavailable in reviewed evidence, it is marked below.
An individually identified portrait and biography are not available in the reviewed sources. Use the published leadership wording and official programme links below.
Appointment evidence
Published role and affiliation
The official evidence identifies the leadership and affiliation listed below for Hand Surgery Fellowship.
- Leadership as published
- Duffield Ashmead, MD (listed as Program Director on the UConn GME hand surgery fellowship page)
- Evidence reviewed
- 3 Nov 2026
- Affiliated training host
- UConn Health Musculoskeletal Institute
Names may identify a director, supervisor, host or contact. The source wording above defines the role; reconfirm the current appointment with the programme.
Training context
Published programme focus
These areas describe the linked training programme, rather than a complete clinical biography or list of individual credentials.
Associated training route
Clinical fellowship
Hand Surgery Fellowship
A one-year hand surgery fellowship at UConn Health's Musculoskeletal Institute covering acute hand trauma and post-traumatic, degenerative and congenital reconstruction. The page is brief; details of eligibility and application are not given.
- Location
- Farmington, Connecticut, United States
- Duration
- One year
- Clinical participation
- Confirm the clinical role and privileges with the programme
- International applicants
- Accepts U.S. citizens, U.S. residents and J-1 visa holders; H-1B visas are not sponsored
- Funding
- Current salary or funding is not published in the reviewed source
- Application timing
- November 15 (year not stated on the page); participates in the NRMP match
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Two ACGME-accredited clinical positions, plus one non-accredited research position for candidates who have completed the fellowship
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Eligibility criteria are not stated on the page reviewed.
Published training
- Acute hand trauma
- Post-traumatic reconstruction
- Degenerative conditions
- Congenital reconstruction
Application route
Application route is not stated on the page reviewed; consult the UConn GME hand surgery fellowship pages.
Published application documents
- Universal Hand Application (via the ASSH online platform)
- CV
- Personal statement
- Three letters of recommendation
- USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3 scores
- Passport-sized photograph
- ECFMG certificate (if applicable)
Published contact note: Fellowship Coordinator: rperry@thehandcenteronline.com, 860-781-6294 (622 Hebron Avenue, Suite 205, Glastonbury, CT)
Direct programme page · Source reviewed 3 Nov 2026
Official sources
- UConn Health Musculoskeletal Institute — Hand Surgery Fellowship ↗
- UConn GME hand surgery fellowship application information ↗
Source review: 3 Nov 2026. Education history, additional appointments, publications and personal contact details are not added without separate official evidence.
Suggest a correction →