Programme leadership profile

Teemu Karjalainen, MD, PhD, Chief Hand Surgeon

Hand and Microsurgery Fellowship Program

Tampere University Hospital (Tays), Pirkanmaa Wellbeing Services County — Department of Musculoskeletal Diseases · Tampere, Finland

People and source evidence

Faculty profiles and official portraits

Explore individually sourced roles, affiliations and portraits. Where a portrait is unavailable in reviewed evidence, it is marked below.

An individually identified portrait and biography are not available in the reviewed sources. Use the published leadership wording and official programme links below.

Appointment evidence

Published role and affiliation

The official evidence identifies the leadership and affiliation listed below for Hand and Microsurgery Fellowship Program.

Leadership as published
Teemu Karjalainen, MD, PhD, Chief Hand Surgeon
Evidence reviewed
15 Oct 2026

Names may identify a director, supervisor, host or contact. The source wording above defines the role; reconfirm the current appointment with the programme.

Training context

Published programme focus

These areas describe the linked training programme, rather than a complete clinical biography or list of individual credentials.

Associated training route

Clinical fellowship

Hand and Microsurgery Fellowship Program

Six-month hand and microsurgery fellowship at Tampere University Hospital led by the chief hand surgeon. Clinical work covers emergency and elective hand surgery including complex trauma, distal radius fractures, wrist pain, osteoarthritis, nerve compression and congenital deformities, with weekly hand conferences and monthly cadaver dissection sessions. This is separate from the hospital's general plastic surgery and reconstructive microsurgery fellowship.

Location
Tampere, Finland
Duration
6 months
Clinical participation
Fellow divides time between the microsurgery team (congenital, tetraplegia, nerve) and the wrist team (wrist, forearm, tendon). Assisting in complex cases is the main learning method; the fellow may operate under a team member's guidance but is not allowed to operate alone. One half day a week is set aside for clinical or laboratory research.
International applicants
Not stated on the cited page beyond noting that most staff speak English and that Finnish and Swedish are the official languages; licensing and visa requirements are not stated
Funding
Salary of about EUR 1,700 per month, with about two days of paid vacation per month
Application timing
The page's table (partly garbled in the fetched text) appears to give 1 July to 30 September 2026 as the application period for the 1 July to 31 December 2027 fellowship period; the 1 January to 30 June 2026 period is shown as expired

Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Number of places not stated on the cited programme page

Eligibility, training and application

Eligibility

Not explicitly stated on the cited page; applicants with research experience or strong research interests are asked to contact the programme before starting

Published training

  • Emergency and elective hand surgery including complex trauma
  • Microsurgery team work (congenital, tetraplegia, nerve) and wrist team work (wrist, forearm, tendon)
  • Weekly hand conference, weekly team meeting and journal club
  • Monthly cadaver dissection sessions at the Tampere Surgical Education Centre
  • Basic microsurgery course run by the University of Tampere (fee applies)

Application route

Send an informal application, CV, list of previous training and a letter of recommendation to the fellowship director, timed to the application periods on the programme page.

Published application documents

  • Informal application
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of previous training
  • Letter of recommendation

Published contact note: teemu.karjalainen@pirha.fi (alternate contact: camilla.hellevuo@pirha.fi)

Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026

Official sources

Source review: 15 Oct 2026. Education history, additional appointments, publications and personal contact details are not added without separate official evidence.

Suggest a correction →