Institution and training host

Tampere University Hospital (Tays), Pirkanmaa Wellbeing Services County — Department of Musculoskeletal Diseases

1 documented programme · Finland

An independent profile of the host as named in official training sources.

Host overview

Training at this institution

The directory documents 1 training route associated with Tampere University Hospital (Tays), Pirkanmaa Wellbeing Services County — Department of Musculoskeletal Diseases. Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.

Published locations
Tampere, Finland
Training pathways
Clinical fellowship
Named leadership
1 of 1 programme records
Official evidence
1 linked source

Published training focus

Faculty and programme leadership

Programmes and application details

Clinical fellowship

Hand and Microsurgery Fellowship Program

Six-month hand and microsurgery fellowship at Tampere University Hospital led by the chief hand surgeon. Clinical work covers emergency and elective hand surgery including complex trauma, distal radius fractures, wrist pain, osteoarthritis, nerve compression and congenital deformities, with weekly hand conferences and monthly cadaver dissection sessions. This is separate from the hospital's general plastic surgery and reconstructive microsurgery fellowship.

Location
Tampere, Finland
Duration
6 months
Clinical participation
Fellow divides time between the microsurgery team (congenital, tetraplegia, nerve) and the wrist team (wrist, forearm, tendon). Assisting in complex cases is the main learning method; the fellow may operate under a team member's guidance but is not allowed to operate alone. One half day a week is set aside for clinical or laboratory research.
International applicants
Not stated on the cited page beyond noting that most staff speak English and that Finnish and Swedish are the official languages; licensing and visa requirements are not stated
Funding
Salary of about EUR 1,700 per month, with about two days of paid vacation per month
Application timing
The page's table (partly garbled in the fetched text) appears to give 1 July to 30 September 2026 as the application period for the 1 July to 31 December 2027 fellowship period; the 1 January to 30 June 2026 period is shown as expired

Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Number of places not stated on the cited programme page

Eligibility, training and application

Eligibility

Not explicitly stated on the cited page; applicants with research experience or strong research interests are asked to contact the programme before starting

Published training

  • Emergency and elective hand surgery including complex trauma
  • Microsurgery team work (congenital, tetraplegia, nerve) and wrist team work (wrist, forearm, tendon)
  • Weekly hand conference, weekly team meeting and journal club
  • Monthly cadaver dissection sessions at the Tampere Surgical Education Centre
  • Basic microsurgery course run by the University of Tampere (fee applies)

Application route

Send an informal application, CV, list of previous training and a letter of recommendation to the fellowship director, timed to the application periods on the programme page.

Published application documents

  • Informal application
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of previous training
  • Letter of recommendation

Published contact note: teemu.karjalainen@pirha.fi (alternate contact: camilla.hellevuo@pirha.fi)

Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026

Official sources and review dates

These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.

Suggest a correction →