Training pathway

Hybrid clinical
& research programmes.

32 source-led hybrid clinical and research profiles. Plastic surgery programmes combining clinical training with protected research time.

What this pathway means

Hybrid clinical and research

Programmes that combine clinical blocks with protected research, or that combine two clinical disciplines such as surgical oncology and reconstruction.

Often suits

  • Surgeons who want both operative and academic output
  • Applicants targeting academic departments

Confirm before applying

  • How time is split between clinical and research work
  • Whether the clinical component needs local registration

Refine these 32 programme profiles. Search the full subspecialty directory →

More filters

Evidence filters describe the available information. Published criteria do not guarantee eligibility, funding or a vacancy; missing information does not mean you are ineligible.

32 programmes

Intake not confirmed

IBRA Resident and Scientific Fellowship — Hand and Upper Extremity Unit

Maastricht University Medical Center+ (Hand and Upper Extremity Center)

Maastricht · Netherlands

IBRA lists the Maastricht UMC+ Hand and Upper Extremity Unit, a joint centre of trauma, orthopaedic and plastic surgery, as a training centre offering a resident and scientific fellowship (IBRA programme C only). The unit runs a 24-hour replantation service and is a national referral centre for scaphoid nonunion, radius malunion and DRUJ instability.

Portrait of Pascal F. W. HannemannFellowship Director (IBRA listing); Trauma and Hand SurgeonPascal F. W. Hannemann
HandMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
IBRA states this centre is available for Program C only, a scientific residential stay of 4–12 weeks. The host's own term is not stated.
Source reviewed 2 Nov 2026
Intake not confirmed

Hand Surgery Fellowship — Institut de la Main et de l'Épaule

Institut de la Main et de l'Épaule — Clinique Bizet

Paris · France

Hand-surgery training combines clinical exposure, teaching and a clinical or experimental research project.

Portrait of Caroline LeclercqNamed hand-surgery training contact on the official residents pageCaroline Leclercq
HandMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
6–12 months; shorter observer visits also described.
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Lymphatic Supermicrosurgery Fellowship Program

Cleveland Clinic — Dermatology & Plastic Surgery Institute

Cleveland, Ohio · United States

A one-year fellowship in lymphatic supermicrosurgery at Cleveland Clinic, combining high-volume operative training on very small lymphatic structures with research on new techniques and complex lymphatic disorders.

Portrait of Wei ChenNamed in official programme listingWei Chen
Lymphatic surgeryMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
One year
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Upcoming cycle

Gender Affirmation Surgery Fellowship

Rush University Medical Center

Chicago, Illinois · United States

Non-accredited one-year fellowship in Rush's Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery covering facial feminisation, top and bottom surgery and microvascular reconstruction, with expected clinical research output.

Portrait of Loren S. SchechterNamed in official programme listingLoren S. Schechter
Gender-affirming reconstructionMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
1 year: 1 July 2027 – 30 June 2028
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Upcoming cycle

International Fellowship Program in Burn Care

Akademiska sjukhuset (Uppsala University Hospital) — Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery, Burn Centre

Uppsala · Sweden

Academic clinical fellowship at one of Sweden's two national burn centres, which admits about 150 patients and sees about 1,400 outpatient visits a year. The fellow is expected to carry out at least one research project in burn care, supervised by a senior consultant, and is encouraged to complete at least one publication.

Portrait of Fredrik HussProgramme Director and Director of the Burn Centre; Associate Professor; Senior Consultant in Plastic SurgeryFredrik Huss
Burn surgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
12 months
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Clinical Fellowship in Robotic Lymphatic Microsurgery & Lymphatic Biology

University Hospital Zurich (USZ) — Clinic of Plastic Surgery and Hand Surgery

Zurich · Switzerland

A 3 to 6 month advanced fellowship in robotic-assisted microsurgery and supermicrosurgery for lymphatic reconstruction, combined with translational lymphatic research (about 60 per cent clinical and 40 per cent research). It runs as a supervised clinical track or an observership track and is unpaid.

Lymphatic surgeryMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
3 to 6 months (Track A clinical fellow 6 months; Track B observer 3 months)
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Severance International Fellowship — Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (including Cosmetic Surgery)

Severance Hospital, Yonsei University Health System — Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Seoul · South Korea

A plastic and reconstructive surgery track within Yonsei's international fellowship scheme, with Cosmetic Surgery named as one of the department's training areas alongside breast, hand and nerve, paediatric and craniofacial, and head and neck or lower-limb reconstruction. Fellows are expected to complete at least one clinical or basic-science research project, with the department's tissue-restoration research institute available. The pages carry a 2020 copyright line, so confirm current terms with the programme.

Aesthetic surgeryBreast reconstructionComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Not stated for the plastic surgery track; fees are quoted per month, and hands-on practice needs a total stay of over six months according to the fee page
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Cadogan Clinic Fellowship

The Cadogan Clinic

London · United Kingdom

A three-month fellowship at the Cadogan Clinic in Chelsea, offered to plastic, maxillofacial and ENT surgeons. The clinic describes research alongside supervised surgery and also hosts separate BAAPS/BAPRAS and ISAPS fellows. Its fellowship page names founder Bryan Mayou as a supervisor, while his individual profile states that he is retired from practice; confirm the current clinical supervision arrangements.

Portrait of Bryan Mayou, FRCSFounder / named fellowship supervisor — retired from clinical practiceBryan Mayou, FRCS
Aesthetic surgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
3 months
Source reviewed 31 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Kagawa University — Department of Plastic Surgery — Advanced Plastic Surgery Training

Kagawa University — Department of Plastic Surgery

Miki, Kagawa · Japan

Kagawa’s JSPRS factsheet describes clinical and research opportunities in plastic surgery and accepts observers. Listed areas include breast, head and neck, aesthetic and microsurgical reconstruction, trauma and pectus excavatum. The clinical/research placement length is not specified; the separate four-year doctoral option must not be read as the fellowship duration.

Portrait of Tomohisa NagasaoProfessor, Plastic Surgery; Supervisor / Director (JSPRS listing)Tomohisa Nagasao
Breast reconstructionMicrosurgeryAesthetic surgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
The JSPRS sheet leaves the clinical/research duration blank; the only stated term is the 4-year doctoral (PhD) course option.
Source reviewed 30 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Chiba University Hospital — Advanced Plastic Surgery Training

Chiba University Hospital

Chiba · Japan

Chiba’s plastic, reconstructive and aesthetic surgery placement combines weekday ward rounds and outpatient activity with scheduled case discussions and operating lists. The JSPRS factsheet describes one-month to one-year placements in craniomaxillofacial, breast, cleft, aesthetic and laser work, while separately listing a doctoral option.

Portrait of Nobuyuki MitsukawaProfessor; Supervisor / Director (JSPRS listing)Nobuyuki Mitsukawa
CraniofacialBreast reconstructionAesthetic surgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
1–12 months
Source reviewed 30 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Hand, Peripheral Nerve and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship

Urgences Mains de l'Est Parisien — Hôpital Privé Paul d'Egine

Champigny-sur-Marne · France

A hand and reconstructive attachment with research expectations and optional university-diploma study.

Portrait of Thierry DubertNamed training-centre contact (FESSH host-submitted listing)Thierry Dubert
HandMicrosurgeryPeripheral nerve
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
6 months or 1 year (1 year strongly advised if enrolling in a university microsurgery/hand diploma)
Source reviewed 28 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Fellowship in Gender Affirmation Surgery

Amrita Hospital / Aham Gender Affirmation Clinic

Kochi · India

Multidisciplinary training in gender-affirming surgical care with clinical mentorship, teaching and research at Aham.

Portrait of Sundeep VijayaraghavanFellowship supervisor (as listed)Sundeep Vijayaraghavan
Gender-affirming reconstructionComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
12 months
Source reviewed 28 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

EACMFS Joint Clinical/Academic Fellowship — Charles Wolfson Centre for Reconstructive Surgery

European Association for Cranio-Maxillo-Facial Surgery (EACMFS) with The Charles Wolfson Centre for Reconstructive Surgery, Royal Free and UCLH Hospitals

London · United Kingdom

A joint clinical/academic fellowship offered by the European Association for Cranio-Maxillo-Facial Surgery together with The Charles Wolfson Centre for Reconstructive Surgery at the Royal Free and UCLH Hospitals in London.

CraniofacialHead & neck reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Not stated on the cited programme page
Source reviewed 28 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Craniomaxillofacial Visiting and Scientific Fellowship — IBRA

Hospital Israelita Albert Einstein

São Paulo · Brazil

IBRA lists Einstein’s craniomaxillofacial department for short visits and scientific fellowships. Training interests include facial trauma, deformity correction and reconstructive facial surgery in an oral and maxillofacial host service.

Portrait of Jose Roberto Piteri FilhoFellowship director (IBRA host listing)Jose Roberto Piteri Filho
CraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Host duration to be agreed; IBRA B supports 1–4 weeks and C supports 4–12 weeks
Source reviewed 23 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Maxillofacial Reconstruction Visiting and Research Fellowship — IBRA

Tokyo Dental College Suidobashi Hospital

Tokyo · Japan

Suidobashi is the main clinical and research site for this IBRA oral and maxillofacial opportunity. The host describes reconstructive surgery and research in congenital anomalies, wound healing and digital technologies; Chiba provides additional clinical training options.

Portrait of Akira WatanabeFellowship director (IBRA host listing)Akira Watanabe
CraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Host duration to be agreed; IBRA B supports 1–4 weeks and C supports 4–12 weeks
Source reviewed 23 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Craniomaxillofacial Visiting and Scientific Fellowship — IBRA

Inselspital — University Hospital of Bern, Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery

Bern · Switzerland

Bern offers short visits focused on facial trauma and osteosynthesis, plus a longer fellowship combining clinical mentoring with optional facial-bone research. The host’s one-year duration is separate from the shorter periods supported by IBRA scholarships.

Portrait of Benoit SchallerFellowship director (IBRA host listing)Benoit Schaller
CraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Host: 1–3 months for a short visit or 1 year for the residential/scientific fellowship
Source reviewed 23 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Complementação Especializada — Reconstructive Microsurgery

Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de São Paulo (FMUSP)

São Paulo · Brazil

A one-year post-specialty course at FMUSP in vascular and nerve microsurgery, combining animal-lab training, supervised clinical microsurgery and research. Two places are listed.

Microsurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
1 year (2,400 hours; 50 hours/week); published cycle 1 March 2027 – 29 February 2028
Source reviewed 22 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Complementação Especializada — Body Contouring Surgery

Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de São Paulo (FMUSP)

São Paulo · Brazil

A one-year FMUSP course (two places) in body contouring plastic surgery, including post-bariatric reconstruction and correction of antiretroviral lipodystrophy.

Aesthetic surgeryBody contouring
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
1 year (2,400 hours; 50 hours/week); published cycle 1 March 2027 – 29 February 2028
Source reviewed 22 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery Fellowship — University Hospital Münster (IBRA Training Centre)

University Hospital Münster — Department of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery

Münster · Germany

An IBRA-listed training centre in cranio-maxillofacial surgery (oral and maxillofacial host specialty) offering a short resident visit or a resident and scientific fellowship. Clinical areas include craniofacial malformations, orthognathic and reconstructive microsurgery, and clinical evaluation of cleft lip and palate. The listing is an IBRA profile, not a departmental page.

Portrait of Johannes KleinheinzDepartment of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery Fellowship DirectorJohannes Kleinheinz
CraniofacialCleftComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Short and long-term visits are possible; the page gives no fixed length
Source reviewed 20 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Facial Plastic Surgery Fellowship

King Saud University College of Medicine

Riyadh · Saudi Arabia

A two-year university fellowship in facial plastic surgery with emphasis on rhinoplasty, facial aesthetics, clinical care, surgery and research.

Portrait of Ahmed Al-ArfajFellowship leadership (as listed)Ahmed Al-Arfaj
Facial plastic surgeryRhinoplastyAesthetic surgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
2 years (1 January – 31 December)
Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Hand and Reconstructive Surgery Training / Scientific Fellowship

Handzentrum Pratteln — Northwestern Switzerland

Pratteln · Switzerland

An IBRA-listed training centre offering reconstructive hand exposure and research in patient-specific treatment and 3D printing.

Portrait of Philipp Honigmann, MDFellowship DirectorPhilipp Honigmann, MD
HandMicrosurgeryPeripheral nerve
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
Short visit or scientific placement; term agreed with host
Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

IBRA Cranio-Maxillofacial and Reconstructive Training

University Hospital of Amiens — Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery

Amiens · France

An IBRA-listed training centre with microsurgical reconstruction and craniofacial research. The profile is undated; reconfirm leadership and availability.

Portrait of Prof. Sylvie TestelinFellowship Director (IBRA listing); Chef de service (CHU page)Prof. Sylvie Testelin
CraniofacialMicrosurgeryHead & neck reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
1–3-month clinical visits or a 1-year research-focused fellowship.
Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Intake not confirmed

Advanced Diploma in Lymphedema Surgery (BCN Lymphedema Research Fellowship)

Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau / Reconstructive Microsurgery European School (RMES)

Barcelona · Spain

A six-month lymphedema surgery fellowship at Sant Pau combining clinical lymphatic microsurgery training with research, with an expectation of one peer-reviewed publication.

Portrait of Jaume Masià, MD, PhDFellowship leadership (as listed)Jaume Masià, MD, PhD
Lymphatic surgeryMicrosurgery
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
6 months (September–February or March–August)
Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Upcoming cycle

Qiu Weiliu International Fellowship Program

IAOMS Foundation / Shanghai Ninth People's Hospital (Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine)

Shanghai · China

Six-month IAOMS Foundation fellowship hosted at Shanghai Ninth People's Hospital, an IAOMS international training centre for oral and maxillofacial oncology and reconstructive surgery.

Portrait of Yue HeFellowship mentor (IAOMS fellow, oncology and microvascular reconstruction, Shanghai Ninth People's Hospital)Yue He
Head & neck reconstructionCraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Hybrid clinical and research
Duration
6 months
Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026