People and source evidence
Faculty profiles and official portraits
Explore individually sourced roles, affiliations and portraits. Where a portrait is unavailable in reviewed evidence, it is marked below.

Louise A. Mawn, MD
Fellowship Program Director
Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurological Surgery; Oculoplastics Division Chief
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗Profile reviewed 16 Oct 2026

Behin Barahimi, MD
Oculoplastics faculty
Associate Professor
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗Profile reviewed 16 Oct 2026

Rachel Sobel, MD
Oculoplastics faculty
Associate Professor
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗Profile reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Official portrait unavailable in reviewed evidence
Brian Biesman, MD
Cosmetic training preceptor
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
The programme page identifies him as the lead preceptor for cosmetic eyelid surgery and minimally invasive facial rejuvenation.
Official programme — named faculty ↗Profile reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Official portrait unavailable in reviewed evidence
Molly Katz, RN, CANS
Adjunctive preceptor
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
The programme names her as an adjunctive preceptor in the cosmetic training component.
Official programme — named faculty ↗Profile reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Appointment evidence
Published role and affiliation
The official evidence identifies the leadership and affiliation listed below for Oculofacial Plastic Surgery Fellowship.
- Leadership as published
- Louise A. Mawn, MD (Fellowship Program Director); Behin Barahimi, MD; Rachel Sobel, MD (faculty); Brian Biesman, MD (cosmetic preceptor); Molly Katz, RN, CANS (adjunctive preceptor)
- Evidence reviewed
- 16 Oct 2026
- Affiliated training host
- Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Names may identify a director, supervisor, host or contact. The source wording above defines the role; reconfirm the current appointment with the programme.
Training context
Published programme focus
These areas describe the linked training programme, rather than a complete clinical biography or list of individual credentials.
Associated training route
Clinical fellowship
Oculofacial Plastic Surgery Fellowship
Training combines orbital and periocular reconstruction, trauma, paediatric oculoplastics and cosmetic surgery at Vanderbilt Eye Institute, with VA responsibility and multidisciplinary rotations.
- Location
- Nashville, Tennessee, United States
- Duration
- 24 months
- Clinical participation
- Supervised clinical and operative training; local licensing and hospital privileges are required.
- International applicants
- International eligibility and immigration arrangements are not stated in the reviewed programme source; confirm with the host.
- Funding
- Host describes support for ASOPRS thesis preparation and meetings; the reviewed source does not specify a salary.
- Application timing
- No current application deadline published; confirm the relevant recruitment cycle.
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Programme listed; the next available position is not confirmed.
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Completed ophthalmology residency; confirm licensing, prior training and appointment requirements with the host.
Published training
- Orbital disease and complex periocular reconstruction
- Paediatric ophthalmic plastic surgery
- Cosmetic eyelid surgery and facial rejuvenation
- VA clinics and surgery
- ASOPRS thesis and resident teaching
Application route
Contact fellowship coordinator Nekole Williams for the current application cycle and submission route.
No programme-specific document checklist is recorded. Follow the current official instructions.
Published contact note: nekole.williams@vumc.org; +1 615-875-7615
Official institution page · Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Official sources
- Molly Katz, RN, CANS — Official programme — named faculty ↗
- Vanderbilt — two-year oculofacial fellowship listing ↗
- Louise A. Mawn, MD — Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗
- Behin Barahimi, MD — Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗
- Rachel Sobel, MD — Official university or hospital faculty profile ↗
Source review: 16 Oct 2026. Education history, additional appointments, publications and personal contact details are not added without separate official evidence.
Suggest a correction →