People and source evidence
Faculty profiles and official portraits
Explore individually sourced roles, affiliations and portraits. Where a portrait is unavailable in reviewed evidence, it is marked below.

Paul A. Binhammer, MD, MSc, FRCSC
Fellowship Supervisor
University of Toronto — Division of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery / Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Completed medical school and residency at Toronto and additional fellowships in Strasbourg and Salt Lake City. University profile lists hand surgery and microsurgery.
Official institution or surgeon biography ↗Profile reviewed 17 Oct 2026

Jana Dengler, MD, MASc, FRCS(C)
Fellowship Co-Supervisor
Assistant Professor
University of Toronto — Division of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery / Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Completed Toronto plastic surgery residency and Washington University hand, peripheral nerve and microsurgery fellowship training. Interests include nerve injury and upper-extremity function after spinal cord injury.
Official institution or surgeon biography ↗Profile reviewed 17 Oct 2026
Appointment evidence
Published role and affiliation
The official evidence identifies the leadership and affiliation listed below for Nerve and Hand Surgery Fellowship.
- Leadership as published
- Supervisor Dr Paul Binhammer, co-supervisor Dr Jana Dengler (no director is named on the page)
- Evidence reviewed
- 15 Oct 2026
Names may identify a director, supervisor, host or contact. The source wording above defines the role; reconfirm the current appointment with the programme.
Training context
Published programme focus
These areas describe the linked training programme, rather than a complete clinical biography or list of individual credentials.
Associated training route
Clinical fellowship
Nerve and Hand Surgery Fellowship
A 12-month nerve and hand fellowship at Sunnybrook. The page lists nerve repair, nerve transfer, nerve grafting, nerve decompression, arthrodesis and tendon or free muscle transfer among the techniques taught, with multidisciplinary collaboration on complex peripheral nerve problems.
- Location
- Toronto, Ontario, Canada
- Duration
- 12 months
- Clinical participation
- Clinical and technical training in complex peripheral nerve, brachial plexus and spinal cord injury care and in acute traumatic and acquired hand problems; fellows are expected to obtain Research Ethics Board approval for a research project and to teach medical students and residents
- International applicants
- Proof of TOEFL completion is requested if medical school instruction was not in English; other licensing or visa requirements are not stated on the page
- Funding
- Not stated on the cited programme page
- Application timing
- 1 May 2026, for the 2027-2028 academic year
Deadline passed
1 position
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Not stated on the cited programme page
Published training
- Complex peripheral nerve, brachial plexus and spinal cord injury care
- Nerve repair, transfer, grafting and decompression; arthrodesis; tendon and free muscle transfer
- Acute traumatic and acquired hand problems including arthritis and post-traumatic causes
- Research project with Research Ethics Board approval; teaching of students and residents
Application route
Send a letter on why the fellowship is wanted (with the anticipated start date), two letters of recommendation, names of two further referees, a CV and proof of TOEFL where applicable.
Published application documents
- Letter of intent including anticipated start date
- Two letters of recommendation
- Names of two additional referees
- Curriculum vitae
- Proof of TOEFL completion if medical school instruction was not in English
Published contact note: Jasmeen Sidhu, Office Manager, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, M1546 - 2075 Bayview Avenue, Toronto, ON M4N 3M5; (416) 480-6100 ext. 3195; jasmeen.sidhu1@sunnybrook.ca (as printed on the cited page)
Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Official sources
- University of Toronto Plastic Surgery — Nerve and Hand Surgery fellowship page ↗
- Paul A. Binhammer, MD, MSc, FRCSC — Official institution or surgeon biography ↗
- Jana Dengler, MD, MASc, FRCS(C) — Official institution or surgeon biography ↗
Source review: 15 Oct 2026. Education history, additional appointments, publications and personal contact details are not added without separate official evidence.
Suggest a correction →