Programme leadership profile

Dr Ronen Avram

Microsurgery and Oncologic Reconstruction Fellowship

McMaster University — Division of Plastic Surgery (Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton) · Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

People and source evidence

Faculty profiles and official portraits

Explore individually sourced roles, affiliations and portraits. Where a portrait is unavailable in reviewed evidence, it is marked below.

An individually identified portrait and biography are not available in the reviewed sources. Use the published leadership wording and official programme links below.

Appointment evidence

Published role and affiliation

The official evidence identifies the leadership and affiliation listed below for Microsurgery and Oncologic Reconstruction Fellowship.

Leadership as published
Dr Ronen Avram (Fellowship Director)
Evidence reviewed
15 Oct 2026

Names may identify a director, supervisor, host or contact. The source wording above defines the role; reconfirm the current appointment with the programme.

Training context

Published programme focus

These areas describe the linked training programme, rather than a complete clinical biography or list of individual credentials.

Associated training route

Clinical fellowship

Microsurgery and Oncologic Reconstruction Fellowship

A 12-month fellowship in microvascular and implant-based breast reconstruction and free and pedicled flap reconstruction of the extremities, abdomen and perineum, with head and neck reconstruction possible according to interest. The document expects more than 75 free flaps and about 150 implant-based breast reconstructions, at least one significant clinical research paper, and teaching of residents.

Location
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Duration
12 months, beginning 1 July
Clinical participation
Multi-site fellowship at Hamilton Health Sciences (Juravinski Hospital and Hamilton General) and St. Joseph's Healthcare; typically 3 to 4 operating days and 2 to 3 half-day clinics per week; no formal on-call requirement, but participation in urgent after-hours microsurgical cases is expected
International applicants
Clinical fellows must be eligible for a certificate authorising postgraduate education from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO), which requires recognition as a specialist in the applicant's jurisdiction; non-Canadians must supply a passport copy, translations of qualifications and a letter of intent to return to their home country
Funding
The applicant is responsible for securing funding or sponsorship; eligible candidates may obtain funding through clinical billings, and salary level is equivalent to PGY-6 in Ontario
Application timing
Not stated on the cited programme document

Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Not stated on the cited programme document

Eligibility, training and application

Eligibility

Eligibility for a CPSO certificate authorising postgraduate education; expected competence in basic recipient vessel harvest, breast implant procedures, axial-pattern flap elevation and microsurgical anastomoses

Published training

  • Microvascular and implant-based breast reconstruction
  • Free and pedicled flap reconstruction of the extremities, abdomen and perineum
  • Head and neck reconstruction according to the fellow's interest
  • Replants and peripheral nerve injuries at a level 1 trauma centre
  • At least one significant clinical research paper and resident teaching

Application route

Complete the McMaster postgraduate application form and submit a CV, medical degree and reference letters; applications are emailed to the programme coordinator with a letter of interest and CV, and reference letters are requested after review.

Published application documents

  • McMaster postgraduate application form
  • Up-to-date CV
  • Medical degree
  • Letter of interest
  • Reference letters (requested after review)

Published contact note: Jennifer Koch, Residency Program Coordinator, plasted@mcmaster.ca, (905) 521-2100 ext. 73962; questions to Dr Avram at avramr@mcmaster.ca (as printed in the cited document)

Official institution page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026

Official sources

Source review: 15 Oct 2026. Education history, additional appointments, publications and personal contact details are not added without separate official evidence.

Suggest a correction →