Evidence filters describe the available information. Published criteria do not guarantee eligibility, funding or a vacancy; missing information does not mean you are ineligible.
A one-year, single-place FMUSP course for qualified hand surgeons in hand surgery and reconstructive microsurgery, run through the Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology.
Host department leadership (as listed)Dr. Rames Mattar Junior
HandMicrosurgery
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
1 year (960 hours; 20 hours/week); published cycle 1 March 2027 – 29 February 2028
Asan's hospital-wide IViS route for overseas physicians. The IViS page does not list departments; the hospital newsroom reports international clinical fellows training in plastic surgery under Professors Joon Pio Hong and Jong-Woo Choi.
MicrosurgeryLymphatic surgeryCraniofacial
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
Up to 1 year; extensions require department approval
COSECSA-accredited plastic surgery training sites (East, Central and Southern Africa) · Africa — multiple countries
A one-month Smile Train-funded rotation for COSECSA plastic surgery trainees to widen their cleft lip and palate experience at another accredited hospital in the region.
The German-speaking hand surgery society (DAH) awards training scholarships for one- or two-week Hospitation at partner hand surgery departments in Austria, Switzerland, Germany and South Tyrol. Swiss hosts named include the Inselspital Bern, Kantonsspital Graubünden (Chur), Luzerner Kantonsspital, Schulthess Klinik and University Hospital Zurich; Austrian hosts include AUVA Lorenz Böhler Vienna, Innsbruck and Kepler Universitätsklinikum Linz. Some host departments are on a waiting list, and the host departments belong to plastic, orthopaedic, trauma and paediatric surgery services.
DAH host-centre clinician — Chief, Hand Surgery; RHÖN-KLINIKUM Bad NeustadtJörg van Schoonhoven
A short international clinical and research training placement in a university hospital's plastic surgery unit, published on the hospital's English education portal. Listed focus areas include scars, keloid, skin tumours, chronic wounds, ptosis, single eyelid and saddle nose, and the named supervisor works in breast, ocular and rhinoplasty surgery, liposuction and facial rejuvenation.
A one-to-three-month aesthetic surgery fellowship run in association with BAAPS by three London consultant plastic surgeons, with broad experience of rhinoplasty, facelifts, blepharoplasty, breast and body surgery plus practice management. The page gives no dates or eligibility rules; appointment is by interview.
Fellowship trainer — consultant plastic surgeonLucian Ion
Aesthetic surgeryRhinoplastyFacial plastic surgery
An AO CMF fellowship host centre in the plastic and maxillofacial department at Karolinska, run jointly with Uppsala (about 75 per cent of the time in Stockholm and 25 per cent in Uppsala). The page lists about 1,300 surgical cases a year and is the AO host listing, not a standalone hospital page.
CraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
Placement length is not stated on the host-centre sheet
An AO CMF fellowship host centre in the department of plastic, aesthetic and reconstructive surgery at Medanta, listed with 20 beds and about 1,830 surgical cases a year. The AO host listing is the only page reviewed.
CraniofacialComplex reconstruction
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
Placement length is not stated on the host-centre sheet
An AO CMF fellowship host centre in the LMU Munich oral and maxillofacial and facial plastic surgery department (OMFS host specialty), listed with 24 beds and about 2,600 surgical cases a year. The AO host listing is the only page reviewed.
CraniofacialFacial plastic surgery
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
Placement length is not stated on the host-centre sheet
Departmental visiting training across reconstructive subspecialties, with conferences, rounds and research discussions. The brochure predates this audit and current terms require confirmation.
Named programme or training-centre contactKim Sang Wha
Ain Shams University Hospitals runs specialised plastic surgery courses for physicians from Egypt and other Arab countries, covering injectables and endoscopic and surgical facelift techniques.
Head of the Department of Plastic SurgeryProf. Ahmed Ali Hassan
Aesthetic surgeryFacial plastic surgery
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
Not publicly listed (described as intensive courses)
A six-month perfeccionamiento stay (versión 2026) that teaches general surgeons basic reconstructive-surgery techniques and advanced wound management for emergency and surgical services without subspecialists, with an introduction to applied clinical research.
Wound reconstruction
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
6 meses (600 horas: 576 prácticas, 24 teóricas; 22 créditos)
An international training route connected to Lyon's large plastic, reconstructive, aesthetic and burns service. HCL describes foreign surgeons and trainees visiting for stages and highlights microsurgical, breast, burn, pediatric and gender-affirming reconstruction.
Chef de service (head of department)Prof. Alain Ali Mojallal
Würzburg is an IBRA training host. Its listing does not publish a detailed curriculum, duration or current vacancy.
Host-centre clinical leadershipRainer H. Meffert, MD
Hand
Pathway
Short-term training
Duration
IBRA scholarship formats: Program B clinical residential visit 1–4 weeks; Program C scientific residential stay 4–12 weeks. The host's own term is not stated on the IBRA centre page.
An AO CMF host-centre placement in a combined head and neck, maxillofacial and plastic reconstructive department handling around 1,450 cases a year, including microvascular flap reconstruction.
An AO CMF host-centre placement in Hospital Roosevelt's stomatology and maxillofacial surgery department, which AO lists at 377 surgical cases a year. This is a maxillofacial department, not a plastic surgery service.
Surgeon in charge of fellows (AO listing)Jaime Matta
British Association of Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons and British Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons
Programme directors in London, Newcastle, Hull/Yorkshire, Nottingham/Leicester, England, and Edinburgh, Scotland · United Kingdom
A three-month aesthetic fellowship for post-CCT plastic surgery trainees, attached to a senior aesthetic practitioner, covering aesthetic surgery and non-surgical aesthetic medicine.
Fellowship leadership (as listed)Mark Henley
Aesthetic surgeryBody contouringFacial plastic surgery