Institution and training host

Vanderbilt University Medical Center — Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

1 documented programme · United States

An independent profile of the host as named in official training sources.

Host overview

Training at this institution

The directory documents 1 training route associated with Vanderbilt University Medical Center — Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.

Published locations
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Training pathways
Clinical fellowship
Named leadership
0 of 1 programme records
Official evidence
1 linked source

Published training focus

Faculty and programme leadership

No named faculty are recorded in the current programme evidence. Use the official sources below to confirm the current director or training contact.

At a glance

  • Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship: clinical fellowship, One fellowship year (monthly rotations with each attending surgeon). Programme listed — intake not confirmed. Applicants must first complete an accredited orthopedic surgery residency program.

Intake, fees and eligibility change between cycles. Confirm each point with the host using the official source listed for the programme before preparing an application.

Programmes and application details

Clinical fellowship

Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship

A hand and upper extremity fellowship in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery covering conditions from the hand to the shoulder in adults and children, at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt, Vanderbilt Surgery Center and Belle Meade Surgery Center. Fellows rotate one-on-one monthly with four orthopaedic hand attendings.

Location
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Duration
One fellowship year (monthly rotations with each attending surgeon)
Clinical participation
Hand fellows are frequently involved in 800 to 1000 cases during their fellowship year, with 4–6 call nights per month; one publication-level manuscript is required
International applicants
Applicants must have completed an accredited orthopaedic surgery residency and apply via the ASSH universal application; overseas training and visa sponsorship are not addressed
Funding
Page lists a stipend for books or a medical device among fellow benefits; salary amount not stated
Application timing
Not stated on the cited programme page; applications via the American Society for Surgery of the Hand universal application

Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Two hand and upper extremity fellows per year; interviews between mid-January and March

Eligibility, training and application

Eligibility

Applicants must first complete an accredited orthopedic surgery residency program.

Published training

  • Operative and non-operative management of hand and upper extremity conditions in adults and children
  • One-on-one monthly rotations with each attending
  • Bi-weekly didactic and pre-/post-operative case conferences
  • Cadaveric dissections and journal club
  • Required research project and publication-level manuscript

Application route

Vanderbilt uses the American Society for Surgery of the Hand universal application; submit a completed Universal Hand Surgery Application and three letters of recommendation. Interviews are conducted between mid-January and March.

Published application documents

  • Completed Universal Hand Surgery Application
  • Three letters of recommendation

Published contact note: Takia Murdock (Fellowship Administrator), Ortho-Fellowships@vumc.org

Direct programme page · Source reviewed 28 Oct 2026

Official sources and review dates

These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.

Suggest a correction →