Host overview
Training at this institution
The directory documents 4 training routes associated with UT Southwestern Medical Center. Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.
- Published locations
- Dallas, Texas, United States
- Training pathways
- Clinical fellowship
- Named leadership
- 3 of 4 programme records
- Official evidence
- 7 linked sources
Published training focus
Faculty and programme leadership
- Douglas Sammer, MD
Hand Surgery Fellowship
Douglas Sammer, MD (Fellowship Program Director, UT Southwestern page) - William P. Adams Jr, MD
Advanced Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship
William P. Adams Jr, MD - Eli Gordin, MD, FACS
Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship — Eli Gordin
Eli Gordin, MD, FACS (director/co-directors listed in the September 2026 AAFPRS handbook)
Other programme records at this host do not identify individually named faculty.
Programmes and application details
Clinical fellowship
Hand Surgery Fellowship
Combined plastic and orthopaedic hand training across UT Southwestern, Parkland, Children’s Health, the Dallas VA and Scottish Rite for Children, including adult trauma and congenital upper-extremity surgery.
- Location
- Dallas, Texas, United States
- Duration
- 12 months
- Clinical participation
- Advanced clinical training; operative scope varies by programme and licence
- International applicants
- Visa, state licensure and international-graduate eligibility must be confirmed directly
- Funding
- Not publicly confirmed in the directory listing
- Application timing
- Follow the programme and applicable match calendar
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Programme listed; current intake must be confirmed
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
The page describes an ACGME-accredited fellowship run jointly by the Departments of Plastic Surgery and Orthopaedic Surgery; specific entry criteria are not stated on the page.
Published training
- Hand
- Microsurgery
- Upper-extremity reconstruction
Application route
Review the linked official listing, then confirm the current application route, match participation, dates and required documents with the programme.
No programme-specific document checklist is recorded. Follow the current official instructions.
Published contact note: Kayla Thomas: kayla.thomas@utsouthwestern.edu; Christina Burton: Christina.burton@utsouthwestern.edu
Official institution page · Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Clinical fellowship
Breast & Microsurgery Fellowship
Breast & Microsurgery Fellowship in Dallas, Texas, represented by an official plastic-surgery or microsurgery society listing. Current case mix, appointment terms and vacancies require direct confirmation.
- Location
- Dallas, Texas, United States
- Duration
- One year
- Clinical participation
- Advanced clinical training; operative scope varies by programme and licence
- International applicants
- Visa, state licensure and international-graduate eligibility must be confirmed directly
- Funding
- The page states the fellow is funded to attend the ASRM meeting; salary is not stated.
- Application timing
- Follow the programme and applicable match calendar
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Programme listed; current intake must be confirmed
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Completion of the relevant surgical training, institutional credentialing and state licensure requirements may apply. Confirm the current candidate profile directly with the programme.
Published training
- Microsurgery
- Breast reconstruction
- Aesthetic surgery
Application route
The page says to contact Christina Burton to obtain an application or further information.
No programme-specific document checklist is recorded. Follow the current official instructions.
Published contact note: Christina Burton, Christina.burton@utsouthwestern.edu (UT Southwestern page); the ASRM listing names Colleen Champagne, colleen.champagne@utsouthwestern.edu
Official society listing · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Clinical fellowship
Advanced Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship
An advanced aesthetic position combining graded responsibility and comprehensive clinical management with UT Southwestern and Dallas community surgeons, including exposure to additional practices.
- Location
- Dallas, Texas, United States
- Duration
- 12 months
- Clinical participation
- Confirm the clinical role and privileges with the programme
- International applicants
- Whether international graduates or visa sponsorship are accepted is not stated on the cited Aesthetic Society profile; it requires a Texas medical licence (held or obtained before starting), hospital privileges and board certification or eligibility in plastic surgery.
- Funding
- Malpractice coverage is listed; the profile does not specify salary or other benefits.
- Application timing
- Application deadline listed as 1 December (year not stated on the Aesthetic Society profile)
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Society-listed programme; the profile does not identify a current application year.
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Applicants need a Texas medical licence, relevant private-hospital privileges and board eligibility or certification in plastic surgery before starting.
Published training
- Aesthetic surgery
- Independent clinical management
- Private-practice exposure
Application route
Apply through SF Match and follow the current aesthetic fellowship match instructions. The society asks residents not to contact endorsed programmes directly about the next Match.
No programme-specific document checklist is recorded. Follow the current official instructions.
Published contact note: William P. Adams Jr, MD: 1801 Inwood Rd., Dallas, Texas 75390; tel. 214-645-3112 — as printed on the Aesthetic Society profile (no email address shown)
Official society listing · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Clinical fellowship
Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship — Eli Gordin
A dedicated facial plastic and reconstructive surgery route in Dallas, Texas, described in the September 2026 AAFPRS handbook. Published training includes rhinoplasty, facial nerve surgery, mohs defect reconstruction, microvascular reconstruction.
- Location
- Dallas, Texas, United States
- Duration
- One fellowship year; confirm exact appointment dates with the host
- Clinical participation
- Clinical and operative experience described; independent privileges depend on local licensing and credentialing
- International applicants
- IMG acceptance is decided by each host. AAFPRS directs IMGs to contact directors and not use the regular Application of Intent or match route; local licensing and visa approval remain necessary.
- Funding
- September 2026 handbook funding note: UT Southwestern PGY6 level - $79,000 for 2024 (usually increases yearly). Individual entries can retain older salary years; obtain current written terms.
- Application timing
- Network cycle: Application of Intent opens 30 November 2026; fellowship application due 1 February 2027 (2028–2029 training). Reconfirm host-specific selection and any additional deadlines.
Upcoming application cycle
AAFPRS portal publishes a 2028–2029 application cycle; this does not confirm a vacancy at this individual host.
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
AAFPRS prerequisites include appropriate otolaryngology or plastic surgery residency training or board certification and membership for the regular match route. Programme licensing note: Must have completed residency in Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery in the United States Texas medical license DEA certification BLS and ACLS certification. Confirm specialty-specific restrictions, credentialing and visa eligibility directly.
Published training
- Rhinoplasty
- Facial nerve surgery
- Mohs defect reconstruction
- Microvascular reconstruction
- Free-tissue reconstruction
- Clinical or laboratory research
- Resident teaching
Application route
Eligible match applicants apply through the AAFPRS fellowship database after membership and approval of an Application of Intent, then register separately with SF Match. IMGs must follow the separate director-led route. Check the linked programme chapter for local requirements.
Published application documents
- AAFPRS Application of Intent and completed fellowship application (eligible match applicants)
- Current curriculum vitae
- One-page future plans statement
- Official medical school transcript with registrar signature
- Three letters uploaded by referees, including the department chair or programme director
- Application fee and separate SF Match registration where applicable
Official society listing · Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
Official sources and review dates
- UT Southwestern — current hand surgery fellowship and faculty ↗Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
- ASRM — subspecialty programme listing ↗Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
- ASRM — official fellowship listing ↗Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
- UT Southwestern Plastic Surgery — Microsurgery Fellowship ↗Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
- The Aesthetic Society — endorsed fellowship profile ↗Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
- AAFPRS — September 2026 programme chapter, PDF page 67 ↗Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
- AAFPRS — 2028–2029 application cycle and prerequisites ↗Source reviewed 16 Oct 2026
These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.
Suggest a correction →