
Host overview
Training at this institution
The directory documents 1 training route associated with University of Alberta — Firefighters' Burn and Wound Treatment Unit (University of Alberta Hospital and Stollery Children's Hospital). Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.
- Published locations
- Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
- Training pathways
- Clinical fellowship
- Named leadership
- 1 of 1 programme records
- Official evidence
- 1 linked source
Published training focus
Faculty and programme leadership
- Not stated on the cited programme page; supervisors listed are Drs Edward Tredget, Peter Kwan, Joshua Wong, Alexis Armour and Alexander Morzycki
Fellowship in Acute Burn Care and Microvascular Reconstruction (Adult and Paediatric)
Not stated on the cited programme page; supervisors listed are Drs Edward Tredget, Peter Kwan, Joshua Wong, Alexis Armour and Alexander Morzycki
Programmes and application details
Clinical fellowship
Fellowship in Acute Burn Care and Microvascular Reconstruction (Adult and Paediatric)
A flexible-length burn and reconstructive fellowship on the University of Alberta burn unit and at the Stollery Children's Hospital. Clinical and basic science projects are encouraged, with presentation at a national or international conference expected. The page lists supervisors but names no separate director.
- Location
- Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
- Duration
- 6 months to 2 years, with start dates of 1 January, 1 April, 1 July or 1 October
- Clinical participation
- Medical and surgical management of acute burns and their sequelae in adults and children, including frostbite, exfoliative disorders, burn reconstruction with microsurgery and skin substitutes; didactic curriculum, multidisciplinary burn rounds, journal club, cadaveric dissections and a microsurgery animal training course; fellows teach residents and medical students
- International applicants
- Eligible for a College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) licence is required; applicants trained outside an English-speaking country must submit IELTS scores. Visa and funding arrangements for overseas applicants are not stated on the page
- Funding
- Described on the page as commensurate to a PGY-6 level of residency training; no amount is stated
- Application timing
- Not stated on the cited programme page
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
1 to 2 positions per year, depending on duration
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Eligible for a CPSA licence; completing or completed an accredited Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada residency or equivalent; IELTS scores if trained outside an English-speaking country
Published training
- Acute burn care in adults and children, including frostbite and exfoliative disorders
- Burn reconstruction with microsurgery and use of skin substitutes
- Acute wound closure and scar reconstruction
- Multidisciplinary burn rounds, journal club, cadaveric dissections and a microsurgery animal training course
- Clinical or basic science research project
Application route
The page lists a single contact for the division's fellowships (below) and states no further application steps.
Published application documents
- IELTS scores, for applicants trained outside an English-speaking country; other documents are not stated on the page
Published contact note: Dr Matt Curran via Kim Caskey, caskeyda@ualberta.ca (as printed on the cited page for all of the division's fellowships)
Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Official sources and review dates
- University of Alberta — Division of Plastic Surgery fellowship page ↗Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.
Suggest a correction →