Institution and training host

University of Alberta — Division of Plastic Surgery (University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital)

1 documented programme · Canada

An independent profile of the host as named in official training sources.

Host overview

Training at this institution

The directory documents 1 training route associated with University of Alberta — Division of Plastic Surgery (University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital). Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.

Published locations
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Training pathways
Clinical fellowship
Named leadership
1 of 1 programme records
Official evidence
1 linked source

Published training focus

Faculty and programme leadership

  • Dr Matthew Curran

    Fellowship in Hand, Wrist and Peripheral Nerve Surgery

    Dr Matthew Curran (Program Director, as listed on the page)

Programmes and application details

Clinical fellowship

Fellowship in Hand, Wrist and Peripheral Nerve Surgery

A one-year hand, wrist and peripheral nerve fellowship run by the Division of Plastic Surgery across three Edmonton hospitals. The page lists acute trauma, replantation, wrist arthroscopy, arthroplasty, brachial plexus injuries and nerve transfers among the experience offered, plus one research programme under a supervisor with presentation at a national or international meeting expected.

Location
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Duration
1 year, starting 1 July; the page states that a 6-month fellowship may also be possible
Clinical participation
Clinical and operative training in hand and wrist surgery, peripheral nerve surgery and upper-limb microsurgery, with a didactic curriculum, case conferences, a hand and nerve journal club, cadaveric dissections and a formal microsurgery animal training course; fellows also teach residents
International applicants
Eligible for a College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) licence is required; applicants trained outside an English-speaking country must submit IELTS scores. Visa and funding arrangements for overseas applicants are not stated on the page
Funding
The programme page lists a salary figure of $67,440; the basis of that figure is not explained on the page
Application timing
Not stated on the cited programme page

Programme listed — intake not confirmed
1 position

Eligibility, training and application

Eligibility

Eligible for a CPSA licence; completing or completed an accredited Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada residency or equivalent; IELTS scores if trained outside an English-speaking country

Published training

  • Hand and wrist surgery including acute trauma, replantation, wrist arthroscopy and arthroplasty
  • Peripheral nerve surgery including brachial plexus injuries and nerve transfers
  • Upper-limb microsurgery with a formal microsurgery animal training course
  • Didactic curriculum, case conferences, hand and nerve journal club and cadaveric dissections
  • One research programme under a supervisor

Application route

The page asks applicants to contact the programme director, Dr Matthew Curran, through the contact listed for the division's fellowships. No further application steps are stated.

Published application documents

  • IELTS scores, for applicants trained outside an English-speaking country; other documents are not stated on the page

Published contact note: Dr Curran via Kim Caskey, caskeyda@ualberta.ca (as printed on the cited page)

Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026

Official sources and review dates

These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.

Suggest a correction →