
Host overview
Training at this institution
The directory documents 2 training routes associated with National University Hospital — Department of Hand & Reconstructive Microsurgery. Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.
- Published locations
- Singapore, Singapore
- Training pathways
- Clinical fellowship; Observership
- Named leadership
- 0 of 2 programme records
- Official evidence
- 1 linked source
Published training focus
Faculty and programme leadership
No named faculty are recorded in the current programme evidence. Use the official sources below to confirm the current director or training contact.
Programmes and application details
Clinical fellowship
Hand & Reconstructive Microsurgery Fellowship
A one-year National University Hospital fellowship in hand and reconstructive microsurgery, with up to four fellows chosen twice a year after online interview.
- Location
- Singapore, Singapore
- Duration
- 1 year
- Clinical participation
- Full-time clinical fellowship with five to seven stay-in call duties per month
- International applicants
- Open to overseas applicants with a recognised medical degree eligible for Temporary Medical Registration with the Singapore Medical Council; English proficiency evidence is needed if English was not the language of instruction
- Funding
- Salary not stated on the cited page. Listed benefits: complimentary registration for the five-day Basic Microsurgery Training Course and the Annual Hand Surgery Review Course, 14 days of paid vacation leave a year, reimbursement of malpractice insurance and temporary medical registration costs, and travel support for presenting research
- Application timing
- No application deadline stated; online interviews are held about twice a year, around May and November
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Up to four fellows selected twice yearly
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Recognised medical degree registrable for Temporary Medical Registration with the Singapore Medical Council; at least three years of experience after housemanship or internship; English proficiency (IELTS, TOEFL or OET) if English was not the medium of instruction.
Published training
- Hand and reconstructive microsurgery clinical training
- Five-day Basic Microsurgery Training Course (complimentary registration)
- Annual Hand Surgery Review Course (complimentary registration)
- Support to present research
Application route
Email a CV with photo, a one-page essay (interest in hand surgery, interest in a Singapore fellowship, post-fellowship plans) and at least two recommendation letters to the department.
Published application documents
- CV with photo
- One-page essay answering three set questions
- At least two recommendation letters
Published contact note: hand_fellowship@nuhs.edu.sg
Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Observership
Hand & Reconstructive Microsurgery Observership (hands-off)
A short hands-off observership in the National University Hospital hand and reconstructive microsurgery department for foreign doctors, also suggested as a preview before applying for the fellowship.
- Location
- Singapore, Singapore
- Duration
- Up to 4 weeks; the page encourages a visit of one to two weeks to understand the fellowship
- Clinical participation
- Strictly observational: no direct patient care, no case notes or prescriptions and no scrubbing in for surgery
- International applicants
- Offered to foreign doctors; valid health insurance and varicella screening or immunisation are required before arrival
- Funding
- Observers arrange their own board and lodging; the department and hospital make no financial commitment or payment
- Application timing
- Not stated on the cited programme page
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Arranged by application; no fixed intake stated
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Foreign doctor submitting the application form, letter of undertaking, CV, two referee reports, passport-sized photo and medical certificates; valid health insurance and varicella screening or immunisation before arrival.
Published training
- Observation of hand and reconstructive microsurgery clinics and operations
- No hands-on patient participation
Application route
Submit the proposed start and end dates, a recent CV, two referee reports, a passport-sized photo, the application form and the letter of undertaking to the department.
Published application documents
- Proposed observership dates
- Recent CV
- Reports from two referees
- Passport-sized photo
- Application form and letter of undertaking
- Copies of undergraduate and postgraduate medical certificates
Published contact note: hand_fellowship@nuhs.edu.sg
Direct programme page · Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
Official sources and review dates
- NUH — Hand & Reconstructive Microsurgery education page ↗Source reviewed 15 Oct 2026
These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.
Suggest a correction →