Host overview
Training at this institution
The directory documents 1 training route associated with Karolinska University Hospital / Uppsala Akademiska University Hospital. Compare each programme’s requirements and source evidence below.
- Published locations
- Stockholm and Uppsala, Sweden
- Training pathways
- Short-term training
- Named leadership
- 1 of 1 programme records
- Official evidence
- 1 linked source
Published training focus
Faculty and programme leadership
- Payam Farzad — surgeon in charge of fellows
AO CMF Host-Centre Placement — Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery
Payam Farzad — surgeon in charge of fellows (named on the AO listing)
At a glance
- AO CMF Host-Centre Placement — Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery: short-term training, Placement length is not stated on the host-centre sheet. Programme listed — intake not confirmed. Medical and/or dental school diploma and a CV are requested.
Intake, fees and eligibility change between cycles. Confirm each point with the host using the official source listed for the programme before preparing an application.
Programmes and application details
Short-term training
AO CMF Host-Centre Placement — Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery
An AO CMF fellowship host centre in the plastic and maxillofacial department at Karolinska, run jointly with Uppsala (about 75 per cent of the time in Stockholm and 25 per cent in Uppsala). The page lists about 1,300 surgical cases a year and is the AO host listing, not a standalone hospital page.
- Location
- Stockholm and Uppsala, Sweden
- Duration
- Placement length is not stated on the host-centre sheet
- Clinical participation
- Scrub-in is possible; a medical and/or dental diploma is required
- International applicants
- English is spoken by the team, but Swedish is dominant in the operating room
- Funding
- Fellows arrange their own housing; hospital apartments may be available
- Application timing
- Current deadline not confirmed; consult the official programme
Programme listed — intake not confirmed
Current intake not confirmed
Eligibility, training and application
Eligibility
Medical and/or dental school diploma and a CV are requested.
Published training
- Plastic and maxillofacial surgery cases
- Observation in other subspecialties
- 3D printer lab and research activities
- Fortnightly online case discussions across both sites
Application route
Placements are arranged through the AO Fellowships platform; the host-centre sheet lists the documents requested and does not give a deadline.
Published application documents
- CV
- Dental and/or medical school diploma
Official society listing · Source reviewed 29 Oct 2026
Official sources and review dates
- AO Foundation — CMF fellowship host-centre listing ↗Source reviewed 29 Oct 2026
These sources document the listed training routes. Institutional rankings, bed counts, accreditation, full staff rosters and current vacancies are not inferred.
Suggest a correction →